Sat. Jun 12th, 2021

Union Minister of Education launches Lilavati Award-2020: AICTE’s Innovative education program to empower women

Lilavati Award-2020

Union Minister of Education Ramesh Pokhriyal virtually launched Lilavati Award-2020: AICTE’s Innovative education program to empower women. With women empowerment as the theme,  the award aims to create awareness about issues like sanitation, hygiene, health, nutrition, literacy, employment, technology, credit, marketing, innovation, skill development, natural resources and rights among women.


The Minister said that the Innovation Cell of Ministry of Education has launched several programmes for the women especially Smart India Hackathon, which has minimum one woman in the team of 6 members. These initiatives will inspire the girl students and women to participate and excel. He appreciated AICTE for the establishment of Lilavati Award and said it would promote women empowerment in the country. He hoped that the establishment of Award will add momentum to our efforts towards the overall development of women.


The Minister informed that the award covers multidisciplinary areas such as women’s health, self-defence, sanitation, literacy, entrepreneurship and legal awareness. He said that the program will ensure the participation of women and enable them to hold higher positions in educational institutions.


Chairman of AICTE Prof. Anil D Sahasrabudhe in his address said, “To treat women with ‘equality and fairness’ in all spheres of lives, by the means of this initiative, all the stakeholders (especially the girl students) in AICTE approved institutions would get a unique opportunity to present a solution to the prevalent issues of gender discrimination, such as illiteracy, unemployment, economic and nutritional disparities, maternal mortality, human rights, etc. Also, if anyone has already made a successful effort towards making a mark in the society, in establishing women’s emancipation/ empowerment at large, she/ he can showcase their efforts/ contributions.”


The valedictory remarks and vote of thanks at Lilavati Award 2020 were proposed by Dr Amit Kumar Srivastava, Director (Student Development Cell), AICTE. He concluded, “With the support and guidance of Minister of Education Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, we believe will achieve many milestones in the path of innovative education and women empowerment.”


Among other dignitaries who witnessed the occasion wereProf. Rajiv Kumar, MemberSecretary, AICTE; Chairman, AICTE Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe; Vice Chairman, AICTE, Prof. M P Poonia, Smt Vasudha Kamath, Member, Draft NEP Committee and other senior officials of the ministry were present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *